ARKANSAS — After reinstating a statewide public health emergency, the governor of Arkansas now says he regrets pushing Act 1002 into law.
Currently, Act 1002 prohibits state and local governments in Arkansas, including public schools, from requiring people to wear masks. The law went into effect July 28.
Last week, Gov. Asa Hutchinson issued an emergency declaration for 60 days due to an increase in COVID-19 cases across the state.
During a press conference on Tuesday, Hutchinson admitted his regrets about passing Act 1002.
"Yes, in hindsight, I wish that had not become law, but it is law. So, our only chance is to amend it or for the court to find it as an unconstitutional element."
Hutchinson also asked the General Assembly to call in a special session so they could consider his proposal to loosen the ban.
At this time, children under 12-years-old are not eligible to receive a COVID-19 vaccine.
Lawmakers convened at 10 a.m. Wednesday in the state Capitol. It is expected for Hutchinson's proposal to not pass.
- Elderly Tulsa couple warning buyers about used cars, warranty rules
- DOWNLOAD the 2 News Oklahoma app for alerts
- Madeline Manning-Mims watches Athing Mu end Olympic gold medal drought for U.S.
- FOLLOW 2 News Oklahoma on Facebook
- Oklahoma doctors keep watch on gamma variant, while COVID's grip on younger patients strengthens
Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere --