History of Oklahoma voting in presidential elections since 1932

Democrats have won Oklahoma 6 times in 84 years
Posted at 7:00 AM, Nov 06, 2016

No matter where you look, the state of Oklahoma is considered a lock for Donald Trump in the Nov. 8 presidential election.

That isn't a surprise to those who live in the Sooner State. Oklahoma has long been considered a "red" state for many years now. In 15 of the past 21 elections, the Republican candidate has won the state.

In fact, since 1932 only three Democrats have won Oklahoma; Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1932, 1936, 1940 and 1944, Harry Truman in 1948 and Lyndon Johnson in 1964.

A deeper dive reveals not a single county in the state was won by John Kerry or Barack Obama in the 2004, 2008 and 2012 elections. All 77 counties were carried by Republicans George Bush, John McCain and Mitt Romney during those election cycles.

You have to go back to the 2000 election, when Al Gore won nine counties, to see any blue in Oklahoma. George Bush won the other 68.

So what does all of this mean for this year's election? Who knows for sure. But one thing we do know is that neither Trump nor Hillary Clinton were who Oklahomans voted for on Super Tuesday back in March?

Ted Cruz won Oklahoma. He carried 59 counties to Trump's 16 and Marco Rubio's two.

On the Democrats side, Bernie Sanders won 75 counties to Clinton's two; Oklahoma and Osage counties.

Don't forget to get out and vote Tuesday.

 Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook