Disaster declaration sought for 6 Oklahoma counties

Posted at 4:20 PM, Jul 07, 2016
and last updated 2016-07-07 17:20:09-04

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Gov. Mary Fallin has asked the federal government for a disaster declaration for six southern Oklahoma counties hit hard by severe storms and flooding last month.

Thursday's request seeks public assistance to help cities, counties, rural electric cooperatives and the state with infrastructure repairs and other costs associated with emergency response. The request includes Caddo, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady and Stephens counties. Fallin says the government has denied the state's request for individual assistance for Caddo, Comanche and Garvin counties.

Severe weather that began June 11 caused flash flooding that drenched homes, businesses and vehicles. Several bridges were washed away and some roads were made impassable. Authorities performed more than 150 swift water rescues.

The storms caused about $6.7 million in damage and contributed to the deaths of two people.