20 Oscar-winning movies now streaming on Netflix

Wins for best picture, director, acting and docs
Posted at 1:59 PM, Feb 25, 2016
and last updated 2017-02-24 07:25:33-05

Why not Netflix and chill with some Oscar winners?

Before the 89th Academy Awards are handed out this weekend to some of the best movies of 2016, take some time to check out some past Oscar-winning movies now streaming on Netflix.

As of Feb. 22, 2017, there were 20 different titles that have won Oscars in the categories of best picture, best director, best actor, best actress, best supporting actor, best supporting actress and best documentary available from the streaming service.

Check out the full list of movies below, broken down by Oscar category.

Best Picture

“Gentleman's Agreement” (1947)

"Patton" (1970)

“Amadeus” (1984)

“Braveheart” (1995)

“Shakespeare in Love” (1998)

“No Country For Old Men” (2007)


Best Actor

"The African Queen" (1951) — Winnter: Humphrey Bogart

“To Kill a Mockingbird” (1962) — Winner: Gregory Peck

“Patton” (1970) — Winner: George C. Scott

“On Golden Pond” (1981) — Winner: Henry Fonda

“Amadeus” (1984) — Winner: F. Murray Abraham

“Milk” (2008) — Winner: Sean Penn


Best Actress

“On Golden Pond” (1981) — Winner: Katharine Hepburn

“Shakespeare in Love” (1998) — Winner: Gwyneth Paltrow


Best Supporting Actor

“The Paper Chase” (1973) — Winner: John Houseman

“Julia” (1977) — Winner: Jason Robards

"The Usual Suspects" (1995)  — Winner: Kevin Spacey

“Good Will Hunting” (1997) — Winner: Robin Williams

“Iris” (2001) — Winner: Jim Broadbent

"No Country For Old Men” (2007) — Winner: Javier Bardem

“Beginners” (2011) — Winner: Christopher Plummer


Best Supporting Actress

"Gentleman's Agreement" (1947) — Winner: Celeste Holm

“Julia” (1977) — Winner: Vanessa Redgrave

“Shakespeare in Love” (1998) — Winner: Judi Dench


Best Director

“Gentleman's Agreement” (1947) — Winner: Elia Kazan

"Patton" (1970) — Winner: Franklin J. Schaffner

“The Graduate” (1967) — Winner: Mike Nichols

“Amadeus” (1984) — Winner: Milos Forman

“Braveheart” (1995) — Winner: Mel Gibson

“No Country For Old Men” (2007) — Winner: Joel Coen & Ethan Coen


Best Documentary

“Man on Wire” (2008)

"Inside Job" (2010)

“Undefeated” (2011)


The 89th Academy Awards will be held Feb. 26, 2017.


Gallery: Best, worst Oscars red carpet fashion since 2006

10 biggest upsets in Oscars history

10 actors who made bad movies after winning Oscars

Clint Davis covers entertainment and trending news topics for the Scripps National Desk. Follow him on Twitter @MrClintDavis.