NewsLocal News


Sooners quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy

Sooners quarterback Kyler Murray wins Heisman Trophy
Posted at 8:04 PM, Dec 08, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-08 22:23:56-05

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Kyler Murray is the best college football player in all the land as he's named the winner of the 2018 Heisman Trophy.

Murray was considered the favorite for the award, beating out Alabama QB Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State QB Dwayne Haskins.

The Heisman is awarded to the top athlete in college football.

The win for Murray also marks for the first time since 1946 that two players from the same school have won the Heisman back-to-back. Former Sooners QB Baker Mayfield won it last year.

Murray threw for 4,053 yards with 40 touchdowns and seven interceptions.

On Thursday, Murray won the Davey O'Brien Award, which goes to the nation's top quarterback in college football. He was also awarded the Associated Press' College Football Player of the Year.

Murray is now the seventh Sooners player to win the Heisman: Billy Vessels (1952), Steve Owens (1969), Billy Sims (1978), Jason White (2003), Sam Bradford (2008) and Baker Mayfield (2017).

Former teammate Baker tweeted out his excitement after Murray won the award.

Mayfield also posted on his Instagram page of how proud he was of Murray.


Murray and the No. 4 Sooners will face No. 1 Alabama in the College Football Playoff semifinal game Saturday, December 29.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook