NewsLocal News


Quarantined: New York, New Jersey require travelers from Oklahoma to quarantine two weeks

Quarantined: New York, New Jersey require travelers from Oklahoma to quarantine two weeks
Posted at 10:35 AM, Jul 07, 2020
and last updated 2020-07-07 22:07:35-04

New York and New Jersey added Oklahoma to list of states on travel advisory.

Coronavirus cases continue to rise in the state of Oklahoma.

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced travelers from Oklahoma, Delaware and Kansas are required to quarantine for 14 days when traveling to New York.

As states around the country experience increasing community spread, New York is taking action to ensure the continued safety of our phased reopening. Our entire response to this pandemic has been by the numbers, and we've set metrics for community spread just as we set metrics for everything. Three more states have now reached the level of spread required to qualify for New York's travel advisory. We will now require individuals coming from Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma to quarantine for 14 days. New Yorkers did the impossible - we went from the worst infection rate in the United States to one of the best - and the last thing we need is to see another spike of COVID-19.
New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo

New Jersey Governor Murphy announced Oklahoma, Delaware and Kansas residents traveling to the state are required to quarantine for 14 days, starting the time of last contact with the identified state."

Several outbreaks across New Jersey are directly tied to travel from COVID-19 hotspots nationwide. In order to responsibly continue down our road back to restart and recovery, we must remain vigilant in our collective effort to beat the virus and reduce the rate of transmission. I urge those arriving from one of these nineteen states to self-quarantine and get a COVID-19 test to prevent additional flareups across the state and ensure the health and safety of their fellow New Jerseyans.
New Jersey Gov. Murphy

The 14 day quarantine applies to anyone going to New York or New Jersey from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 over a seven day rolling average, or from a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a seven day rolling average.

Travelers should self-quarantine at their home, hotel or other temporary lodging, according to a release. Travelers should not leave quarantine unless it is to seek medical care, food or other essential items.

There are 19 states on the required quarantine list:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook