OU Sooner quarterback Baker Mayfield wins the Heisman Trophy, beating out two others for the prize

Posted: 7:59 PM, Dec 09, 2017
Updated: 2017-12-10 04:41:32Z

NEW YORK -- Baker Mayfield is the winner of the Heisman Trophy after a ceremony Saturday night.

The Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Mayfield was considered a favorite for the award. He was awarded the Associated Press' College Football Player of the Year award on Thursday.

Mayfield became the sixth Sooner to win the Heisman.  He is the first player to win after starting a career as a walk-on, according to ESPN

Mayfield bested second-place finisher Bryce Love, a running back at Stanford and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, who won the Heisman last season. 

Mayfield threw for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns with five interceptions.

Mayfield's Sooners will take part in the playoff against Georgia in the Rose Bowl on New Year's Day.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android  and Kindle devices.

Sign up for  newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook