NewsLocal News


Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray is named the AP Player of the Year

Oklahoma QB Kyler Murray is named the AP Player of the Year
Posted at 11:51 AM, Dec 06, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-06 12:51:23-05

Kyler Murray is The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, the second straight Oklahoma quarterback and fifth overall to win the award since it was established in 1998.

Murray beat out Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa in voting by 56 AP college football poll voters who submitted player of the year ballots. Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins Jr. of Ohio State was third for the award announced Thursday.

Murray received 39 first-place votes and a total of 145 points. Tagovailoa (117 points) received 13 first-place votes and Haskins (55 points) was listed first on four ballots.

All three are finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented Saturday night in New York.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook