FEMA denies assistance for Dec. storm

Posted at 6:49 PM, Feb 11, 2016

Individuals and business owners will not receive federal aid for damage caused by the storm that began after Christmas. 

Gov. Mary Fallin was notified Thursday that the assistance she requested for nine counties was denied. Those counties include: Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, McCurtain, Muskogee, Ottawa, Pushmataha and Sequoyah.  

FEMA did approve public assistance for 41 counties, Wednesday. 

Oklahoma Emergency Management Director Albert Ashwood says he is working to appeal the federal agency's decision. The state has 30 days to do so. 

The storm that began Dec. 26 destroyed over 100 homes and damaged 99 others. Additionally, an estimated $48 million in damages and response costs have been associated with these areas. 

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook