TULSA -- Starting July 1, Oklahoma drivers will keep their license plate with them if they buy or sell a car, and keep registration inside their vehicle.
Officials say keeping your tag helps law enforcement in tracking current vehicle owners, as well as cut down on past owners receiving turnpike fees, parking tickets, or other issues with their old vehicle.
If you buy a vehicle from a dealership, that car will come with a paper tag and you will have 30 days to register the vehicle in order to avoid penalties. When registering the vehicle, you will have a choice of placing your old tag on the vehicle or purchasing a new one from the Oklahoma Tax Commission, or your local tag agent.
If you buy a vehicle from anyone other than a dealership and you do not have a tag from a previous vehicle, the car may be driven for five days without a plate. During these five days, you must have a copy of the bill of sale or the assigned title in the vehicle. If you have a tag from a previous vehicle, you may place the tag on the newly-purchased vehicle after it has been titled and registered. You have 30 days before incurring any penalties.
"We understand that we’re having to carry pieces of paper that we never had to carry before, the purpose of the registration inside the vehicle is because we’re keeping our tags, we have to make sure the registration matches the information on the license plate," said Officer James Koch, Broken Arrow Police Department.
You can go to a local tag agency to get a duplicate registration certificate, which will cost you $1.
Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.
Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.