Lamar Jackson wins the Heisman Trophy; Baker Mayfield finishes third, Dede Westbrook finishes fourth

Who will take home the Heisman Trophy?
Posted at 1:56 PM, Dec 10, 2016
and last updated 2016-12-10 21:34:56-05

NEW YORK (AP) -- Lamar Jackson is the first Louisville player to win the Heisman Trophy, beating out preseason favorite Deshaun Watson of Clemson despite some late-season struggles.

The sensational sophomore quarterback leapt over a loaded field of Heisman Trophy contenders early in the season and by the time he slowed down nobody could catch him.

The highest honor in college football was handed out Saturday night in New York.

Baker Mayfield finished third and Oklahoma teammate and fellow finalist Dede Westbrook was fourth. Michigan's Jabrill Peppers was fifth.

Jackson, at 19 years, 347 days, is the youngest Heisman winner ever.


The last time a player from an Oklahoma team won the Heisman was in 2008, according to ESPN.

Below is a list of Heisman winners since 2006.

  • 2015 Derrick Henry Alabama
  • 2014 Marcus Mariota Oregon
  • 2013 Jameis Winston Florida State
  • 2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M
  • 2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor
  • 2010 Cam Newton Auburn
  • 2009 Mark Ingram Alabama
  • 2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma
  • 2007 Tim Tebow Florida
  • 2006 Troy Smith Ohio State

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook