NewsLocal News


Gov. Stitt declares state of emergency after tornadoes, flooding strike Oklahoma

Posted at 4:19 PM, May 01, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-01 17:25:57-04

OKLAHOMA CITY — Gov. Kevin Stitt has declared a state of emergency for 52 Oklahoma counties after tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding hit the state on Tuesday.

The state of emergency was declared for the following 52 counties:

Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington.

At least a dozen tornadoes were reported in Oklahoma during the severe weather outbreak, and damage has been reported at various homes and businesses throughout Green Country.

The state of emergency allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to jurisdictions. The executive order will remain in effect for 30 days.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management is asking residents impacted by the April 30 storms to report damages to their property here.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook