NewsLocal News


Gov. Stitt adds 14 counties to State Of Emergency declaration

Posted at 5:54 PM, May 08, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-08 18:55:55-04

OKLAHOMA CITY — Governor Kevin Stitt on Wednesday amended an executive order declaring a State of Emergency to include 14 additional counties impacted by the latest round of severe weather that began April 30.

Counties added to the governor’s declaration are: Alfalfa, Beckham, Caddo, Custer, Dewey, Greer, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Jackson, Noble, Roger Mills, Washita, Woods.

As severe weather has continued to impact the state, these counties have experienced flooding, severe storms, tornadoes, and straight-line winds during. Damage assessments are ongoing and, in some areas, cannot be completed until floodwater recedes, the governor's office says.

The 52 counties listed in the governor’s original declaration on May 1 are Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington.

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook