NewsLocal News


Federal government approves disaster declaration for October ice storm damage

Posted at 5:58 PM, Dec 21, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-22 08:15:55-05

OKLAHOMA CITY — Governor Kevin Stitt announced Monday the federal government approved the state's request for disaster assistance for the ice storm damage in October.

The 13 counties included in this declaration are Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Dewey, Grady, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Noble, Oklahoma, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Roger Mills.

READ MORE: Oklahoma requests major disaster declaration for October ice storm damage

In certain areas, the multi-day storm system produced up to two inches of ice, left hundreds of thousands without power and caused millions of dollars in damages, according to the governor's office. In just 13 counties, officials said the storm caused about $27 million in damage and debris removal.

Officials said the funding is going to help municipalities, counties, tribes and rural electric cooperatives with debris removal, infrastructure repairs and other storm-related costs.

“I am grateful to President Trump and his administration for getting this important assistance across the finish line to help Oklahomans,” said Gov. Stitt. “This funding will help us continue to recover from a historic winter storm.”

With ongoing damage assessments, the state said it will submit a request to add 16 additional counties to the declaration. The following counties include: Alfalfa, Blaine, Comanche, Custer, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Jackson, Kay, Lincoln, Major, McClain, Pawnee, Stephens, Tillman, and Washita.

Trending Stories:

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere --