NewsLocal News


Fallin declares emergency for 12 counties following tornadoes

Posted at 6:04 PM, Dec 03, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-03 21:15:07-05

Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin's office declared a state of emergency for 12 counties due to severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds on Nov. 30.

The counties included in the governor’s declaration are Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Haskell, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Muskogee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha, Sequoyah, and Tulsa.

Under the governor’s executive order, state agencies may make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

The executive order is in effect for 30 days, and could be amended to include additional counties if needed.

The Cherokee Nation also has declared a state of emergency. It is asking for a federal disaster declaration following weekend tornado damage. The tribe says 822 of its citizens have been affected.

"Chief Baker is asking President Trump to declare Cherokee Nation a major disaster area and that federal aid be provided to the tribe to assist in recovery and response efforts," a news release says.
Cherokee Nation’s Emergency Management-Incident Management Team is asking Cherokee Nation citizens who were impacted by the storm to report their damage by calling 918-207-3871 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. or by emailing Cherokee citizens should include name, address, contact information, and a description of the damage.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook