NewsLocal News


Disaster designation for 4 Oklahoma counties due to drought

Posted at 1:11 PM, Aug 10, 2018
and last updated 2018-08-10 14:11:35-04

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Gov. Mary Fallin's office says four counties in northeastern Oklahoma have been designated disaster areas because of drought, making farmers and ranchers eligible for federal assistance.

Fallin's office said Friday that U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue notified Fallin of the designation, which makes farmers and ranchers in adjoining counties in Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri and Kansas also eligible for aid.

The primary counties are Nowata, Rogers, Mayes and Delaware.

Adjacent counties are Washington, Tulsa, Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Craig and Ottawa in Oklahoma; Montgomery and Labette counties in Kansas; McDonald County, Missouri and Benton County, Arkansas.

The declaration means farmers and ranchers in the counties can apply for certain types of aid, including emergency loans.

Local Farm Service Agency offices will have information on the declaration and how to apply for assistance.

Stay in touch with us anytime, anywhere.

Download our free app for Apple and Android and Kindle devices.

Sign up for newsletters emailed to your inbox. Select from these options: Breaking News, Severe Weather, School Closings, Daily Headlines and Daily Forecasts.

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook