College football's Walter Camp Award watch list has just 4 Big 12 players in 2013-2014

'Tis the season... for College Football Award 'watch lists.'

Another day, another list. Today it was the Walter Camp Award, which goes to College Football's 'Player of the Year.' The list is far from exclusive, featuring 50 names, but ya gotta look pretty long and hard to find players from the 'ol Grande Doce.

Four Big 12 players make the list; TCU QB Casey Pachall and DB Jason Verrett, Baylor RB Lache Seastrunk and Kansas State RB John Hubert.

Not a single player from Oklahoma or Oklahoma State on the list. Not a single player from Texas, West Virginia, Texas Tech, Iowa State or Kansas either.

In fact, mighty Alabama puts four players on the Walter Camp Award watch list, matching the Big 12's entire total.

Bottom line is, this conference, which has re-written offensive record books and pumped out Heisman winners and candidates with regularity in recent seasons suddenly has a very real lack of impact players.

No need to think this is the new normal. Every conference (except of course, for that one down south) has its down years. And it's quite possible that a Blake Bell or Jeremy Smith or Jackson Jeffcoat, etc., enjoys a breakout season and puts his name in the running for some of these National awards. But as the season approaches, the unavoidable truth appears to be that this year's Big 12 has good teams, not great ones; good players, not great ones.

More optimistic than me about the Big 12's National Championship possibilities? Feel free to let me know on Twitter - @caydenmc or by email -

Print this article Back to Top