President Obama signs Oklahoma disaster declaration, state to receive federal aid for February storm

President Obama deemed the storm that hit the western part of Oklahoma in February a major disaster Monday, ordering federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts.

The counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Kay, Kingfisher, Major, Noble, Roger Mills, Washita, Woods, and Woodward.

The Feb. 24-26 storm that impacted the counties resulted in an estimated $7.5 million in infrastructure damage and response costs, according to Okla. Gov. Mary Fallin's office.

"Large areas of Oklahoma were inundated with heavy snow in February," Fallin said. "These funds will provide assistance to help municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives in the affected areas to cover the costs associated with responding to this significant winter storm."

More designations may be made at a later date.

Print this article Back to Top