Government shutdown: Majority of Oklahoma representatives vote no on bill to end shutdown

WASHINGTON - Late Wednesday night, Congress approved a bill to reopen the government and avoid default. The President signed it into law shortly after.

The law allows the Treasury to borrow normally through Feb. 7 and fund the government through Jan. 15.

"The compromise we reached will provide our economy with the stability it desperately needs," said Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, declaring that the nation "came to the brink of disaster" before sealing an agreement.

MORE: Federal government shutdown (

Republicans had other concerns.

"We fought the good fight. We just didn't win," conceded House Speaker John Boehner.

The bill includes nothing for Republicans demanding to eradicate or scale back Obama's signature health care overhaul.

Here is how our local representatives voted:

Tom Coburn - No
James Inhofe - Did not vote (recovering from surgery)

Tom Cole - Yes
Jim Bridenstine - No
Markwayne Mullin - No
Frank Lucas - No
James Lankford - No

Print this article Back to Top