Collin Klein, Kansas State Wildcats quarterback, third in Scripps Heisman Poll

Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein slid to third in the Scripps Heisman Poll following a bye week for the Wildcats.

Klein, who led the Scripps Heisman Poll for four consecutive weeks until Texas A&M's freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel took over on Nov. 21, has one more chance to impress the Heisman voters on Saturday when the Wildcats (10-1, 6th in the BCS) host Texas.

On Dec. 8, the winner of the Heisman Trophy will be announced. All Heisman votes are due by Monday, Dec. 3.

The Scripps Heisman Poll voters already have a pretty clear idea of who that winner will be.

Johnny Football Manziel leads the Poll, receiving first-place votes from eight of the 10 pollsters and 47 points overall.

Manziel cemented himself as the Heisman favorite last Saturday, throwing for 344 yards, three touchdowns and one interception, and running for 67 yards and two touchdowns in the Aggies' 59-29 rout of Missouri.

Manziel broke the Southeastern Conference's single-season total yardage record, moving past former Auburn quarterback Cam Newton and former Florida quarterback Tim Tebow. Newton and Tebow both won the Heisman Trophy.

Texas A&M (10-2, 9th in BCS rankings) will play next in a still-to-be-determined bowl game.

Manziel's closest competition on Dec. 8 might come from Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o, who moved up to second in the Scripps Heisman Poll with two first-place votes and 36 points overall. Te'o had five tackles and an interception in the Fighting Irish's 22-13 victory over USC last Saturday.

Notre Dame is 12-0, and is first in the BCS rankings. It will play in the BCS title game on Jan. 7 vs. the winner of this Saturday's SEC championship game between Georgia and Alabama.

Oregon running back Kenjon Barner moved up a notch to fourth after rushing for 198 yards and two touchdowns in the Ducks' regular-season finale, a 48-24 victory over Oregon State. Oregon finished 11-1 and is ranked fifth by the BCS.

Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller is fifth. He completed 14-of-18 passes for 189 yards and a touchdown in the Buckeyes' 26-21 victory over Michigan. His season is complete as Ohio State (12-0) is on probation and ineligible to play in the Big Ten championship game or a postseason bowl.

The Scripps poll is the longest running Heisman poll in the nation. Since its inception in 1987, it has correctly picked the Heisman winner in its final weekly poll 21 of 25 years, including Robert Griffin III last year. Ten Heisman voters each selected five players this week, and points are awarded on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis, with five points for a first-place vote, four points for second, etc.

This week's top five:

Player, School, Season Stats, Poll Points (first-place votes in parentheses).

1. QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 3,419 passing yards, 68.3 completion pct., 24 TDs, 8 ints., 1,181 rushing yards, 19 TDs, 47 (8).

2. LB Manti Te'o, Notre Dame, 103 tackles, 7 interceptions, 2 fumbles recovered, 1.5 sacks, 36 (2).

3. QB Collin Klein, Kansas State, 2,306 passing yards, 66.7 completion pct., 14 TDs, 6 interceptions, 787 rushing yards, 20 TDs, 32.

4. RB Kenjon Barner, Oregon, 1,624 rushing yards, 21 TDs, 19 receptions, 1 TD, 12.

5. Ohio State QB Braxton Miller, 2,039 passing yards, 58.3 completion pct., 15 TDs, 6 ints., 1,271 rushing yards, 13 TDs, 6

Others receiving votes: USC WR/KR Marqise Lee 5, Northern Illinois QB Jordan Lynch 4, Wisconsin RB Montee Ball 3, Clemson QB Tajh Boyd 2, Alabama QB A.J. McCarron 2, South Carolina DE Jadeveon Clowney 1.

Last week's top five:

Player, School, Season Stats, Poll Points (first-place votes in parentheses).

1. QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 47 (8).

2. QB Collin Klein, Kansas State, 32 (1).

3. LB Manti Te'o, Notre Dame, 27 (1).

4. WR/KR Marqise Lee, USC, 11.

5. RB Kenjon Barner, Oregon, 10.

Voters: Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman; Randy Beard, Evansville Courier & Press; Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Bob Condotta, Seattle Times; Dennis Dodd,; Vahe Gregorian, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; John Helsley, The Oklahoman; Mike Griffith,; Todd Jones, Columbus Dispatch, and Michael C. Lewis.

(Distributed by Scripps Howard News Service,

Print this article Back to Top