Barresi names Oklahoma Teacher of the Year

OKLAHOMA CITY - The Oklahoma Teacher of the Year was announced Tuesday.

State Superintendent Janet Barresi reveal this year's winner at the Oklahoma State Fairgrounds in Oklahoma City.

Twelve finalists have been chosen from six regions across the state and five of them are from Green Country, including Carol Brinsfield from Checotah, Kyle Cooper from Coweta, Tiffani Cooper from Owasso, Lisa Lamont from Muskogee and Lane Matheson from Tulsa.

Ultimately, Elaine Hutchinson from Fairview, Okla. was named the 2012 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year.

Hutchinson teaches Algebra 2, Trigonometry, Pre-Calculus and AP Calculus. In addition to her classes, Hutchison is the high school assistant basketball coach.

"A teacher's enthusiasm ignites greatness," said Hutchinson. "If we want our students to be excited about learning, they must feed on our passion. We must work as though our daily contributions are what make or break our students' success."

Print this article Back to Top