Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin lifts burn ban for 22 counties, Tulsa County re-issues ban

Twenty-two of Oklahoma's 77 counties were relieved from a statewide burn ban Tuesday that has been in place since August 3.

Gov. Mary Fallin signed an executive order removing the counties after Oklahoma Forestry Services requested the ban's lifting, according to a press release.

Tulsa County was among the repealed bans, but county commissioners quickly put together a resolution extending the ban. Tulsa County, which has been on a self-imposed ban since July 6, currently holds the state's only county-mandated burn ban.

The resolution works as a 7-day extension, giving Tulsa County until Sept. 23 to lift or re-extend burn restrictions.

Below are the remaining 55 counties under state burn ban:

Adair, Alfalfa, Beaver, Blaine, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Custer, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Haskell, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, LeFlore, Logan, Love, McIntosh, Major, Marshall, Mayes, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Rogers, Sequoyah, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward Counties.

Nearly 680 homes and businesses were damaged beginning July 28 as fires burned more than 114,000 acres across the state.

Oklahoma's Creek County received more than $3 million in federal aid, a number Fallin says is not enough.

Print this article Back to Top