Muskogee Christian Ministers Union offers voters rides to precincts for Tuesday's election

A Muskogee minister’s group is working to ensure every voter in the area can participate in Tuesday’s special election.

Muskogee Christian Ministers Union will provide rides to and from the voting precincts from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.  Pastors within the group have offered their church vans to assist area voters.

“We just wanted to be of assistance to help those who are not able to get out and vote, said Lester Beasley, pastor at Harvest Ministries Church. “We also want to be of support to the candidates and get a better turnout."

To schedule a ride on the east side of the city, call 918-816-0901 or 918-616-1194. To schedule a ride on the west side of the city, call 918-687-7617 or 918-360-2869. 

Early voting was open to Muskogee residents Thursday and Friday. Muskogee County Election Board officials said 92 voted during those two days.

Polls will open again Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Candidates on the ballot include:

City Council Ward 1
David Paul Jones
John Mark Lowrimore

City Council Ward 2
Michelle Jean Green
James Robert Gulley

City Council Ward 3
Randall Randy Keith Howard
Ivory Lewis Vann

City Council Ward 4
Marlon Joseph Coleman
Arnold Dean Swan
Claressa Dionne Vealy-Dyer

Print this article Back to Top