Gov. Mary Fallin issues State of Emergency for 16 counties, including Oklahoma and Pottawatomie

OKLAHOMA CITY – Governor Mary Fallin declared a State of Emergency Sunday for 16 Oklahoma counties after multiple tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding ripped across parts of the state.

Counties included in the declaration are: Caddo, Cleveland, Comanche, Creek, Garfield, Grant, Greer, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pawnee, Payne and Pottawatomie.

PHOTO GALLERY of the severe weather across the state May 19

These Oklahoma counties experienced the heaviest damage from the tornadoes, including winds, hail and flooding, which began Saturday evening.

Reports show damage in numerous communities including Bethel Acres, Carney, Edmond, Little Axe, Norman, Shawnee and Wellston.

"Our hearts and prayers are with those Oklahomans who have been affected by today's severe weather," Fallin said Sunday in release. "The state of emergency declaration will allow state agencies to help expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions to aid with the clean up and recovery from today's storm."

VIDEO of the tornadoes and damage from Sunday

Near Shawnee, at least one person was killed when the twister hit a mobile home park.  The victim was a 79-year-old man whose body was found in an open area of the neighborhood.

Pottawatomie County officials say at least six other people were injured and as many as 35 homes were damaged.

Print this article Back to Top