TULSA - Oklahomans are legal on the roadways carrying minimum coverage: Part of that being $25,000 to cover property damage.
That's the coverage the guy who hit Sara's car, and a second vehicle, had.
When it came time to collect Sara discovered it's nowhere near enough.
She says, "When I got in touch with the insurance company I found out the driver who caused the accident only has the $25,000 max. That has to be split between me and the other lady involved and doesn't come close to the value of my car which was totaled."
An attorney with the Oklahoma Insurance Department says the rest will fall to the victim's insurance coverage but only if Sara and the other driver carry collision coverage.
That's not mandated by law but it's how you can protect yourself from under insured drivers.
When you have to tap into your own insurance you do face paying the deductible and likely your rates will go up the following year but at least you'll be able to get back on the road.
Copyright 2013 Scripps Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.