KJRH recognized with National Edward R. Murrow Award for best website

2 Works for You is honored to accept the National Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Website.

The focus of the entry was the coverage of the Moore tornado in 2013. Our team of journalists worked with digital designers to create an interactive site complete with videos, photo galleries, tornado timeline, storm radar, and enterprising stories from storm victims and first responders.

Check out our coverage of the 2013 Moore Tornado on KJRH.com.

KJRH is one of three E.W. Scripps properties to receive National Murrow Awards this year.

In addition, KJRH received Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for Overall Excellence and Best Website Award.

“The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow's pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.”


The station received four Emmy nominations. Winners will be announced July 12.

Morning Newscast

Daytime Newscast

Evening Newscast

News Excellence

Oklahoma Associated Press Broadcasters News Excellence Competition:

This competition "encourages the highest standards of reporting, programming, and promotion. It is designed to stimulate a desire for excellence among Oklahoma broadcasters in serving their public."

Investigative Reporting:  Second Place,  "Tracking Your Tax Dollars: Delinquent Property Taxes" Marla Carter, Julie Weindel, Dennis Meister

Best News Anchor/Anchor Team:  Second Place, Russ McCaskey

Best Evening Newscast: Honorable Mention,  2 News Works for You at 10

Best Website:  Second Place, KJRH.com

Best Enterprise Reporting:  First Place "Problem Solvers: Veteran's Benefits", Deana Silk, Dennis Meister

Best Special Program:  Second Place "Tracking Your Tax Dollars: Delinquent Property Taxes" Marla Carter, Julie  Weindel, Amy  Bryant, Dennis Meister

General News Reporting:  First Place "Slipping Through the Cracks" Russ McCaskey, Jim  Doutt;

Best Reporter Portfolio:  Second Place, Brandon Richard

Best Weather Coverage: Second Place, "December Ice and Snow" Brett Anthony

Best Solo Journalist:  Honorable Mention, "A trip to Carlton Landing: Oklahoma's New Town"  Brandon Richard; Honorable Mention,  "Goat Show" Lee Carter

2013-2014 Society of Professional Journalist Awards:

The Oklahoma pro chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists honored the best journalistic

work in the state at its annual awards banquet Saturday, April 26, at the Reed Conference Center in

Midwest City. 

Live Broadcast:  First Place Staff  for "Oklahoma City Marathon"

Documentary:  First Place Julie Weindel, Marla Carter, Dennis Meister, Amy Bryant  for "Tracking Your Tax Dollars: Delinquent Property Taxes"

Investigative Reporting:  First Place Julie Weindel, Marla Carter, Dennis Meister for "Tracking Your Tax Dollars: Delinquent Property Taxes"

Government Reporting: Julie Weindel, Marla Carter, Dennis Meister  for "Storm Shelter Funding"

Spot News:  Second place for "Moore Tornado the First Six Hours"

Special Program:  Second place Garrett Weindorf, Andrew Barker, Scott Taylor, Jim Doutt for the 2 Works for You Storm Shield special

Best Reporting Portfolio:  Third Place to Brandon Richard

Web Writing:  Third Place to Tyler Dunn

Print this article Back to Top